Basic Information

Erasmus+ is a new EU education programme for the period 2014–2020, which supports cooperation and mobility across all sectors of education, practical training, and sports and youth. It replaces the Lifelong Learning Programme, the Youth in Action Programme, and others.

The Erasmus+ Programme offers opportunities to students, teachers, apprentices, volunteers, youth leaders and people working in grassroots’ sport. It also provides funding for partnerships between organisations such as educational institutions, youth organisations, enterprises, local and regional authorities and NGOs, as well as support for reforms in Member States to modernise education and training and to promote innovation, entrepreneurship and employability.

Erasmus+ is divided into three key actions:

  • KA 1 - Mobility of Individuals
  • KA 2 - Cooperation for Innovation and Exchange of Good Practices
  • KA 3 - Support for Policy Reform

The following countries may participate in the Erasmus+ Programme:

Programme countries

  • EU Member States – 28 countries
  • EEA Member States (Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein)
  • Turkey, FYR Macedonia

Partner countries

Partner countries neighbouring the EU

  • Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine
  • Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia
  • Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia
  • Russia 

Other partner countries

Region 5 - Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State, Switzerland

Region 6 (Asia) - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam

Region 7 (Central Asia) - Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Region 8 (Latin America) - Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela

Region 9 - Iran, Iraq, Yemen

Region 10 - South African Republic

Region 11 - (African, Caribbean, and Pacific States) - Angola, Antigua and Barbados, Belize, Cape Verde, Comoros, Bahamas, Barbados, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Kinshasa), Cook Islands, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti Dominica, Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Republic of Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Samoa, St. Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Region 12 (Arab States of the Persian Gulf) - Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates.

Region 13 (Other developed countries) - Australia, Brunei, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, Macau, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, United States.

While some actions of the Programme are open in full to the partner countries, some are limited to selected regions. For example Mobility for Individuals is open to all regions excepting regions 5, 6 and


UP administration of the Erasmus+ Programme

UP Erasmus code: CZ OLOMOUC01
PIC: 999 649 506
OID: E10208271

1 Chief responsibility for the programme administration

The IRO is in charge, coordinating the programme activities, generating the interim and final report for the Centre for International Cooperation in Education (CICE); the IRO is also responsible for settling allocated funds.

2 Departmental responsibility and tasks

Departments are primarily in charge of academic activities, i.e. establishing contact with the foreign institution, preparation of a coordination agreement, signing of a bilateral agreement, selection of students and staff, generation of a study programme, related materials and documents, recognition of learning outcomes, organisation related to staff programmes.